We're here to help

Where do camera recordings get stored?

    Follow

    If you are new to the BlackVue family, you might wonder where the recording files go. The answer actually depends on the BlackVue camera model you own. But, if you are using a Cloud-compatible dashcam, you can expect a total of four storage locations for your files. The caveat is, files do not automatically get duplicated in all four locations. Read further below to learn how you can secure your files from getting deleted.

     

    SD Card

    All BlackVue dashcam models record and store files on the SD card. Of course, the number of recordings stored depends on the capacity of the SD card itself, whether your camera is a single or a dual-channel model, and the file size that depends on the resolution and image quality settings among others. In other words, the bigger the capacity of the SD card, the more files will be saved. And a single channel camera approximately produces recordings twice as many as a dual-channel type of the same model. Higher resolution and image quality settings mean bigger file sizes and so lesser number of files recorded. Check out the estimated recording time length of some of our cameras according to quality settings and bitrates.

     

    NOTE: Since BlackVue dashcams are designed to record videos in an overlooping fashion, recording files are overwritten from the oldest ones to allocate space for continuous recording. Some camera models have the "Protect Event Files from being Overwritten" option in the firmware settings that prevents the camera from deleting fifty event files. However, the camera will also delete the oldest protected event files to make space for the recording of newer event files if there are already fifty protected event files. Always make duplicate copies of important recordings in the following two recording storage locations. Recording files cannot be deleted from the SD card while the camera is running.

     

    Overwritten files can be recovered using third-party file recovery software but we cannot guarantee the quality or performance of such software programs.

     

    Internal Memory

    Internal Memory storage is the first backup storage location for the recording files. Users of simple WiFi and Cloud-compatible dashcams have the option to copy important recordings into the Internal Memory. And this Internal Memory refers to the internal memory storage of a mobile device (e.g. mobile phone, tablet PC). 

     

    Simple WiFi dashcam users can access their recordings by connecting a mobile device to the camera via the Direct WiFi feature of the BlackVue mobile app. In addition to this option, Cloud-compatible dashcam users have the second option of accessing camera recordings via the Cloud feature in the mobile app. The Cloud-compatible camera should be registered to the Cloud account of a user and the Cloud service should be enabled. Cloud dashcam users can access recordings remotely as long as the camera is "Cloud-connected".

     

    NOTE: A user can duplicate copies of important files to the internal memory of a mobile device manually. This means that the user should connect to the camera via Direct WiFi or Cloud and then manually save copies of the file(s) into the Internal Memory storage. A user can delete files stored in the Internal Memory anytime.

     

     

    Cloud Storage

    The second backup storage for recording files is the Cloud Storage. This storage is only available for Cloud-compatible dashcams. The camera should be registered to the Cloud account of a user and should be "Cloud-connected" at the time of file transfer. The user accesses the camera via the Cloud feature (even remotely) and manually copies files from the SD card to the Cloud storage. The mobile device being used to access the camera remotely should also be connected to the internet.

     

    NOTE: By default, all BlackVue users who create a BlackVue account and register a camera are given 5 Gigabytes of Cloud storage. Files manually transferred from SD card to the Cloud storage expires after 90 days. For paid Cloud plans subscribers, files remain for 365 days before automatically deleted. A user can freely delete any of the files in this storage to make space for more files.

     

    Files that were deleted in the Cloud storage are non-recoverable or non-restorable.

     

    Event Auto-Upload Storage

    The event auto-upload feature is only available to Cloud-compatible cameras (except DR650GW). Once this feature is activated and set according to the user's preference, the camera will automatically upload event files only into a separate Cloud storage, as long as the camera is "Cloud-connected" at the time of event detection.

     

    NOTE: For free plan users, event files automatically uploaded in this storage remain saved for two days and will be automatically deleted thereafter. For paid Cloud plan subscribers, these files expire after seven days from being automatically uploaded. Users cannot delete files that are stored in this storage location.

     

    Files that were deleted in the Event Auto-upload storage are non-recoverable or non-restorable.

     

    Powered by Zendesk